Stepping Stones forest school outting

Early Years

Early years education is provided on site through the Stepping Stones Foundation Unit.  Our most recent moderation visit commended the parent:teacher relationship:

There is a two-way flow of information between home and school. For example, daily conversations, a reading diary, weekly newsletters, WOW stars, questionnaires and consultation meetings. The Learning Journey is sent home each term for parents and children to read, add comments and photographs from home learning experiences.  There are very strong links with families and many also visit the school to talk about their work and life experiences.

Stepping Stones aims to provide children aged from rising 3 to 5 with a high quality of care, where they can grow personally , socially, emotionally, spiritually and academically, working towards all the Government’s Early Learning Goals in the context of a Biblically based, Christian environment.

The Unit provides a smooth transition to the Primary phase of The King’s School whilst also welcoming children who will go on to other schools.  Stepping Stones is noted for its warm, caring and purposeful atmosphere.

We believe our four key values will help children have the best start.

  1. Getting to know and love God

 We aim to help children know and understand more about God who made them and loves them unconditionally.

  1. Loving other People

We encourage children to learn to love and respect others, knowing that God loves everyone.

  1. Loving ourselves

We aim to help children understand that they are unique individuals created by a loving, heavenly father who has a plan and a purpose for their lives.

  1. Making good choices

Life is full of choices and consequences!  We want to help children learn to make good choices and understand that their choices have consequences.  We also want them to understand the importance of saying sorry and being forgiven when they or others around them make unwise choices.

At Stepping Stones, we offer a broad range of activities which are interwoven with Biblical principles and a God-centred world-view.  The aim is to help each child know their value, to help them achieve academically, to train them in good character qualities and to help equip them for life in every way.

We work towards the government requirements for learning and development by making sure we cover all the seven areas of learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and seek to help children to reach their Early Learning Goals through planned, purposeful play with a balance of adult led and child initiated learning.  The seven areas of learning include:

Three Prime Areas: these areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, social, and emotional development

Four Specific Areas: these areas include essential skills and knowledge, which support and strengthen the prime areas.

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design

Staff will also be making reference to the Characteristics of Effective Learning (also found in Development Matters).  These underpin children’s learning and development across the foundation stage and are grouped under the following main headings:

  • Playing and Exploring (engagement)
  • Active Learning (motivation)
  • Creating and Thinking Critically (thinking)

To find out more about joining, please see our Admissions Policy.